Ramblings and Musings: Love and the Outcome

Sooo you see my title and your first thought might be that couple/band that calls themself Christian. Yeaah I don’t really like them. In case you didn’t know, I’m not a very big fan of Contemporary Christian Music (ya know, CCM) But that’s a different post for a different time {yep, coming soon;)}

But that’s not what I’m going to be talking about today.

Oh, wait. I need my disclaimer :

SOME of the things I’m going to stay on here today are my own opinion. Alot of them are not. Everything I say here I believe with all my heart, and believe it as fact, not just something I thought up.Like always,  if you agree, I love you. If you don’t. Well, I’m sorry. No matter your opinion, I really really want to know what you think (instead of just hording all you thoughts *sniff sniff. So please leave me a comment, and let me know if you agree or disagree. Thanks!

 

Love starts….Where?

Let me tell you about myself for a little. Now, I grew up in Northern Missouri, in the heart of the Mid-West (I know, I know, where even is Missouri?? ) I mean, we’d have to drive maybe 2-3 hours to see any professional sports team play (not that we’d want to see them anyhow because sports+Missouri= sick. Especially their hockey team. {don’t ask me how I know that.}  Unless you count rodeos and truck pulls as sports. But, yeah you get the point)

There’s not alot of people in our area or north east Missouri. Especially when it comes to, ya know, the average BMA kid?

So yeah, not alot of people, not alot of friends.

And besides I’m a Homeschooler (And proud of it ya’ll-I’ll be graduating before most Public schoolers even get to their Junior year.) Not alot of people in my circles, ya know?

I had questions like “Where do I belong?” “Do I fit in here?” “What even is a ‘Best Friend’?”  And yes, these are probably questions we all ask ourselves, one time or another.

Buuut i didn’t even have a “Best Friend” (FYI, I dislike that term)

Oh, I had “good friends”. Ya know, the gals I hung out with, chatted with on iMessage, called every now and then. But I was always just “One of the best friends” or “really really good friend”. I’d build up hopes, just to have them crumble again.

Man, I’ve already spent 400 words and I haven’t even got to the good stuff.

Because that’s the awesome thing. There is good stuff.

Jesus: our first love

Yes, I know, we’ve all heard it before. Jesus is our first love. He’s our BFF. And, you know, “SMILE! Jesus Loves You!” (Cheeeeeessy)

But yeah, we know all this stuff. Been told it all our lives. If someone would ask us, we would say “Yes, I believe this.”

Most of us have John 3:16 memorized:

 For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

And Yesss. We know this. Right??
We have known all our lives what Jesus did on the cross.  Paid the price for our sins, so we wouldn’t have to. We get that. We get what it means to us.

But do we get what it meant to God? Like seriously, God sent His only  son so you could be free!

As Christians, growing up in Christian homes all our lives, going to Church every Sunday, because we didn’t really have a choice , we’ve been taught about this our entire life. We have more knowledge about this area then most people know about their favorite sports team. And that’s a lot.

Let’s take a bunny trail here for a second.

Let’s say..um Jack. There’s a guy you know, whos name is Jack. Jack is 14.  Jack loves baseball. His favorite team is the St. Louis Cardinals. Jake always know when the Cardinals next game will be, what there chances of winning are, and exactly where they are in stats and standings. Let’s say Jack spends 30 minutes a day study about the St. Louis Cardinals. Every single day, he has no problem at all to take that 30 minutes and learn about the St. Louis Cardinals. Jack talks about the St. Louis Cardinals A LOT, too. Everybody knows that’s his favorite team. People can see tell he knows a lot about the Cardinals, and it is obvious that he spends those 30 minutes a day only learning about the Cardinals.

Just think, if  Jack spent 30 minutes a day, plus most of the day every Sunday for 12 years of his life learning about the Cardinals he would have spent 13,730 minutes learning about them. That’s roughly 228 hours. Think how much he would about Cardinals then.

Soo just think, you’ve probably spent about that much time hearing about Jesus and the Gospel .  (maybe more or less depending on age, and such)

So if you modified that story up there so that everything is you and God, would it be the same?

Head knowledge does not equal heart knowledge.

So we established that we KNOW a lot about God. We’ve been taught it our whole lives about Jesus. We know  so much about Him. If someone asked, we could tell them.

But it does no good if it’s not in our heart.

We must believe it.

We must take that head knowledge, and place it in our hearts.

That’s what we do when we accept Jesus as our Savoir.But I’m not here to talk about that.

What did we do when we accept Jesus into our hearts?

We accept the fact that he gave His life to die on a tree, so that we wouldn’t have to pay the price for our sins. We accept that He loved each one of us so much that he did that for us.

Wait,wait,wait. Love?

I Love that outfit.

I Love that cup of coffee.

I Love that candy bar.

I Love that boy. (raisy eyebrows inserted here.)

But…God? loving us?

Well, of course He loves us, I mean, really, Look at that verse up there, ya know, John 3:16??

Oooh I’m not doubting that you know that God loves the world, but did you know that He loves YOU personally?

OF COURSE I know that.Duh.

So you know it?

Yes!!

In your heart? or in your head?

Because we can know as much stuff as we want. We can even say it to people.

But if we don’t believe it, with all of our hearts, that God is very concerned and loves you more than anyone else in the whole world, it does you no good.

He loves you more than your best friend.

More than your boyfriend.

Even more than your parents or siblings.

He loves you. 

Now where do we go from here.

Love……and the outcome.

Have you ever seen one of those little fountain decor things? You put water in the bottom and it just keeps on going in and coming back out, going in and coming back out, over and over and over again.

See, you’re kind of like that little fountain. God keeps pouring His love on you over and over, now you know what it’s like to be loved unconditionally. Now, we can’t just stop there. You’ve got to pour out that love on the people around you. Over and over and over.

Keep sucking up, keep pouring out.

Like a sponge. You soak all the water up  and squeeze it all out.

Keep soaking. Keep squeezing.

Love always,

Katrina

 

Leave a Reply

