2016:: of dreams and resolutions

First off I want to say that I am not an expert on everything, these are just my personal opinions. If you feel offended by them in any way, please just exit this webpage and continue doing whatever you were doing. I’m not trying to create hard feelings:)

Well, it’s finally 2016. All the dreams, resolutions and wishes for last year either are completed, or not.

I’m not gonna beat around the bush to the point I’m trying to make here.

Okay maybe I will a little.

Last week my family and I were in North Florida visiting relatives over the New Years. Saturday evening my cousin pulled out her notebook and started reading off her page long list of New Years resolutions.

Some of which were very practical, some of which were very unrealistic.

So I got to thinking. Why?

Why do we go to the effort to make plans and dream and write down “resolutions”?

Or should I say, why do we go to the effort to write down resolutions if we can’t POSSIBLY keep them.

This is the point I’m trying to make.

One year my friend made a resolution to stop popping her knuckles. A couple weeks later, she was back popping her knuckles again, forgetting her recently made resolution.

Okay, so maybe your resolution is not to not pop your knuckles.

But think about it a little. Do you have any dreams that once you think about them they ARE kinda unrealistic?

Okay, so I don’t mean to slander anyone, or dash anyone’s hopes and dreams, but really.

Now you might really be wondering why I am coming across so….frustrated.

You see, when you say this year I’m going to do this, this, and this, it doesn’t leave God anywhere to move.  If we fill our life so full of the things WE want to do, how are we ever going to be able to do what HE wants to do?

Where do I get all this?

A couple verses, if I may:

James 4:13-16  (NIV)

13 Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.” 14 Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. 15 Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.” 16 As it is, you boast in your arrogant schemes. All such boasting is evil.

Proverbs 16:3  (NIV)

Commit to the Lord whatever you do,
    and he will establish your plans.

So, where am I going with this?

When we make “resolutions” I feel as though we need to:

  • Examine them and see what kind of resolutions they are.

Not all resolutions are bad. I completely believe in resolutions that will help us grow, one way or another. The ones I’m skeptical about are the ones that say “I’m going to do _____ this year”

  • Ask God what we should put on our list.

If we let God direct us , we will be living in His will, and He will show us where He wants us to go and what He wants us to do. We just have to be free and open to His plans.

 

 

foriknow

So why don’t we just let God take the wheel?

 

 

tim-tebows-quotes-5

God holds our future. We must trust it to Him.

 

 

proverbs1921

Always, God’s will will come before our wishes

I wish to start a sort of series on my blog, titled My Journaling Journey. I hope to post each week with how its going, and I would love for you to join with me! As I said, I’m not an expert, but if you share some of my point of views, and would like to tag along, I’ll be sharing some of the tools I’m using, etc.

Agreed with me on this? Please let me know in the comments below!

 

~Katrina

1 Timothy 4:12 (KJV)

12 Let no man despise thy youth; but be thou an example of the believers, in word, in conversation, in charity, in spirit, in faith, in purity.

 

Leave a Reply

